Oath taking ceremony and first Dzongkhag Tshogdu sitting of Third LG

23 January 2022

“Local government is not the smallest or lowest level of government but the closest and most intimate form of government to the people."

His Majesty the King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck, June 27, 2011.

On the auspicious day falling 22nd January, 2022, the Chhukha Dzongkhag Administration convened the Oath Taking Ceremony for the newly elected local government leaders including 11 Gups, 11 Mangmis and 47 Tshogpas. The Oath Taking program for remaining 11 Tshogpas will be conducted in coming weeks.

The first sitting of the Dzongkhag Tshogdu for the third local government was also convened in the afternoon in line with Local Government Act, Local Government Rules and Regulation and Protocol for Local Government Proceedings.

During the session, the Dzongkhag Tshogdu Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson were also elected. Gup Birkha Bahadur Rai of Phuntshogling Gewog was elected as Chairperson and Gup Kinley Dorji of Geling Gewog was elected as the Deputy Chairperson of Dzongkhag Tshogdu respectively.

As directed by the Dzongkhag COVID Task Force, following protocol for COVID 19 were followed during the program.

1. All the members including other participants from Dzongkhag were tested on Antigen Test before the program.

2. The participants from High Risk Area have completed 7 days quarantine and produced RTPCR negative test results.

3. Social distance was observed and hand sanitization and use of face masks were made compulsory at the event.

4. The oath taking was conducted in turns (Gewog wise) to avoid any crowding during the ceremony.

The Chhukha Dzongkhag Administration wishes all the elected members